Search by keywords

Browse by categories

Gala de la Griffe d’Or


1991 - 2000

The Griffe d’Or, broadcast on TVA, was an annual awards show that celebrated the talent and achievements of the Quebec fashion industry in a variety of sectors: womenswear, menswear, childrenswear, sports/activewear, jewellery, fur and more. The event’s primary sponsor was the Quebec Ministry of Industry and Commerce.

The first edition in 1991 featured two components: an amateur modelling competition organized by the US-based Ford Model Agency, and a gala awards evening honouring the Quebec fashion industry. The following year, the event focussed exclusively on the latter segment. From 1991 to 1999, the number of Griffe d’Or awarded increased from 3 to 13.

At the gala marking the event’s 10th anniversary in 2000, winners of all the preceding years were honoured and only four grand prizes were awarded: “Designer 2000,” the “Marie-Soleil Tougas New Designer Prize,” “Stylist of the Year,” and “Lifetime Achievement.” In the end, it was the last year the Griffe d’Or were held.

Griffe d’Or award winners:


  • Designer 2000: Philippe Dubuc
  • Marie-Soleil Tougas New Designer Prize: Rebecca Ford for the Luscious brand
  • Stylist of the Year: Véronique Droulez
  • Lifetime Achievement: Jean-Claude Poitras


  • Designer of the Year: Philippe Dubuc
  • Collection of the Year – Jewellery: RMR (for Richard and Michel Rouillier)
  • Collection of the Year – Fur: Pino by Maryse Roye
  • Collection of the Year – Lingerie: Boutique by French Maid
  • Collection of the Year – Childrenswear: Souris Mini (Annie Bellavance)
  • Collection of the Year – Womenswear – Manufacturer: Poems Collection by Lynn Cantin
  • Collection of the Year – Sports/Activewear: Orage
  • Collection of the Year – Womenswear: Jean Airoldi
  • Marie-Soleil Tougas Public Prize: Karen Pornillos
  • Griffe d’Or Modelling Competition: Geneviève Veerasarn
  • Industry Prize – Job Creation and Technology Investment: Gildan Activewear
  • Industry Prize – Clothing Contractor: Jacques Frappier, President of Technofil
  • Industry Prize – Exporter of the Year: Peerless Clothing





  • Childrenswear Designer: Créations Françoise Bouthillier
  • Womenswear Designer: Michel Desjardins
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Jewellery: Création Thibaudeau
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Footwear: Grenico
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Leather/Fur: D’Arcy Moses/Natural Furs
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Jeanswear: Santana Jeans/Parasuco
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Lingerie: Claudel Lingerie
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Menswear: Dénommé Vincent
  • Designer/Manufacturer – Activewear: Orage
  • Childrenswear Manufacturer: Collection Banana Split
  • Womenswear Manufacturer: Créations Joseph Ribkoff
  • Lifetime Achievement: Lise Watier






Ministère de l’Industrie et du Commerce (May 2001)

Poitras, Jean-Claude. “La mode québécoise : un style en mutation” Le Devoir, Le Devoir, 30 April 2011, External link

Publication date





Madeleine Goubau, Contributor

Last edited on
01/02/2019 Suggest an edit